/ Education Canada Network

Peace Wapiti School Division No. 76 Info

The Peace Wapiti School Division is comprised of the former Spirit River School Division No. 47, the schools of the County of Grande Prairie No.1, the former Grovedale School District #4910 and the Ridgevalley area.

Our school system serves approximately 6,000 students located in 26 schools spread over an area of 30,000 square kilometers in northwestern Alberta. Our jurisdiction extends from Sturgeon Heights in the east to the British Columbia border in the west. It stretches from south of the Wapiti River to the Peace River in the North.
Some of our jurisdiction's schools are located in remote rural settings while others are located in the region's towns and villages. The Board's largest school, Harry Balfour, is located in the City of Grande Prairie, serving students from the immediate surrounding area.

The Board operates six high schools:

Spirit River

We also operate schools on five Hutterite Colonies. We provide schooling for students from the Horse Lake Reserve and from the Aspen Grove and Kelly Lake Metis settlements. Excluding the Colony schools, the smallest school has an enrollment of just over 30 students and the largest has over 700 students.

About 30 students from the Bonanza area of our jurisdiction attend school in Dawson Creek, BC.
Just over 200 students living close to Grande Prairie attend non-system schools within the City.

About 150 students are on home schooling programs and are provided support by the Board staff.
Most Board schools operate programs similar to those found in comparable schools anywhere in Alberta. However, to function as economically as possible, when enrollments are low and/or declining in some areas, some smaller schools must provide double, triple and quadruple grading.

In the smaller, remote high schools heavy reliance is placed on distance education programs to augment the basic in-school offerings. Some specialty programs exist to meet local needs.

Cree language classes are offered in both Hythe schools. Native liaison workers assist with school programs in four schools.

The School Board employs the full-time equivalent of over 300 teachers and 398 non-teaching staff. In addition to the 711 regular staff members, the Board employs a considerable number of part-time and casual personnel, making it one of the largest employers in the Peace River Region.

Mandate - The Peace Wapiti School Division is responsible for the provision (and maintenance) of an educational environment that enables all students to achieve their potential to become productive members of a changing society.

Effective January 1st 2005 our name was officially change to
Peace Wapiti School Division No. 76

Peace Wapiti School Division No. 76 is a publicly funded organization
Enrollment: 6000
No. of Schools: 28
No. of jobs currently in ECN: 13

For More Information

To view this employer's contact or application information you must be a registered job seeker with Education Canada. If you are already a registered member log in below. If you are not yet registered with Education Canada click here.

Username: Password:
Register Now!

Forgot Your Password?

Any logos and trademarks of Peace Wapiti School Division No. 76 are copyright Peace Wapiti School Division No. 76. Education Canada does not take responsibility for the validity of any information provided by Peace Wapiti School Division No. 76. Individuals should refer to the organization for clarification and confirmation. Information provided directly from Peace Wapiti School Division No. 76 will take precedence over any information provided on this site.

About ECN   |   Terms & Conditions of USE   |   Privacy Policy  
Contact Us   |   Tech Support
Site and Contents © 2000- Education Canada Network. All Rights Reserved.